top of page


The Delta Gamma Sigma chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. was chartered in the fall of 1960. The first chapter meeting was held on June 4th, 1960 at Maryland State College, which is now the University of Maryland Eastern Shore. The chapter now serves central and southern Delaware and undergraduate chapter, Gamma Upsilon at Delaware State University. Delta Gamma Sigma chapter continues to serve its community through local programs such as its annual Thanksgiving Drive, and the fraternity's national programs which include partnerships with the American Cancer Society and the March of Dimes.

The first Charter Officers for Delta Gamma Sigma chapter (1960):


Bro. Robert Beasley - President
Bro. James Washington - Vice President
Bro. Charles Williams - Secretary
Bro. Dr. James Allen - Treasurer
Bro. Benjamin Graham - Parliamentarian
Bro. Samuel Cooper - Chaplain
Bro. Edgar Wharton - Dir. Bigger & Better Business
Bro. James Webb - Dir. Education
Bro. Theodore Henson - Dir. Social Action

Screen Shot 2023-03-02 at 1.41.31 PM.png
Screen Shot 2023-03-02 at 1.43.51 PM.png
Screen Shot 2023-03-02 at 1.47.27 PM.png
Screen Shot 2023-03-02 at 1.53.51 PM.png
bottom of page